Early voting begins in W.Va.

PARKERSBURG – Early voting for the May 13 primary election begins today and ends May 10.

The primary election is May 13.

The downtown polling precinct for early voting is in the Fort Boreman public meeting room of the Judge Black Courthouse Annex, 315 Market St. Hours will be 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on the two Saturdays prior to the election, May 3 and 10.

Early voting at four community satellite voting precincts will be available from Tuesday to May 10.

“Voters are reminded that no matter where they reside they can vote at any early vote precinct. The sites will have all the ballot styles available,” County Clerk Mark Rhodes said.

Satellite polls will be at the Williamstown City Building, 100 West Fifth St.; the Vienna City Building, 609 29th St., Vienna; Mineral Wells Volunteer Fire Department, 1695 Elizabeth Pike, Mineral Wells, and Lubeck Volunteer Fire Department, 1340 Harris Highway, Lubeck. Hours will be 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on weekdays and 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on Saturday, May 10 at the satellite precincts.

Rhodes said things have been pretty quiet leading up to this time.

“We haven’t received a lot of phone calls or comments, it seems pretty quiet. I think we have the system down pat that we’ve developed over the years. We know what’s coming up and try to deal with it before it becomes a problem, and this seems to be a pretty quiet election season,” Rhodes said.

Only about 30 absentee ballots had been sent as of Tuesday. There are about 54,000 registered voters.

No campaign signage is permitted on county property during the early voting period, that includes signs on vehicles. No campaign signage is permitted within 300 feet of the community early vote sites and precincts on election day.

Any alleged voter fraud issues should be directed to the prosecutor’s office, 304-424-1776. Questions about voter registration or alleged campaign violations can be reported to the voter registration office of the county clerk, 304-424-1860.

The deadline to submit an absentee ballot application is 4:30 p.m. May 8.

The voter registration office is on the fourth floor of the courthouse. Office hours are 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Voters not registered as Republican or Democrat can still vote on nonpartisan candidates, which includes Wood County Board of Education candidates, the bus levy and Soil Conservation District supervisor.

To be eligible to vote on the Mid-Ohio Valley Transit Authority’s Easy Rider bus levy, voters must be residents within the corporate limits of Parkersburg or Vienna.

The mayor and city council for the city of Williamstown will also be on the ballot for Williamstown. Voters will also be deciding on nominees for legislative offices.

“Both political parties have opened their primaries as well, so if you are not a registered Republican, Democrat, Libertarian or Mountain Party, you can request a Republican or Democrat ballot, whichever they want to vote,” said Melody Ross, deputy clerk with the voter’s registration office.

Bob Tebay will appear on the ballot as a Republican candidate for the county commission. Tebay earlier attempted to withdraw from the race, citing health concerns. The deadline to withdraw was Feb. 11, his withdrawal was filed in mid-April. According to an attorney general’s opinion his name is to remain on the ballot. If he wins the primary, the county commission must certify him as the nominee. If Tebay wins the primary, the attorney general’s opinion notes if he wants off the general election, he would have to withdraw again.

If Tebay wins the primary and does not withdraw, he would go into the general election as the Republican party’s candidate. If Tebay doesn’t win the primary, the issue is moot. Deadline to withdraw for the general election is Aug. 12.

If Tebay withdraws after the primary by the deadline the Republican Executive Committee would need to have approval of the state Elections Committee but could then appoint a replacement nominee for him going into the general election. The party would have until Aug. 18 to nominate a candidate for the general election. There are four Republican candidates for the commission seat: Tebay, Sam Baker, Raymond Jones, and Roger Brown. Incumbent commissioner Wayne Dunn is running unopposed on the Democratic ticket in the primary.