Doddridge boys, PHS girls win Ritchie track titles

ELLENBORO -Doddridge County nipped host Ritchie County for the boys title at Friday night’s Ritchie County Pizza House Invitational while Parkersburg High ran away with the girls title.

Doddridge County used its depth to outlast Ritchie, 113 to 106, in the boys race, despite the Rebels getting a meet high 38 points from Jayden Allender, who won the 400, 300 hurdles and high jump and placed second in the 110 hurdles.

The Bulldogs got first place finishes from Brandon Smith in the 100, Zach Cottrill in the long jump and Isaac Britton in the discus. Britton also was the runner-up in the shot put while Cottrill placed second in the 400 and third in the high jump. Smith was third in both the 200 and 400.

Ritchie County had a double winner in Johnny Hogue, who won the 1600 and 3200 titles.

Gilmer County got a first place finish from Nathan Stout in the shot put. He also was second in the discus.

Wirt County won the 4 by 800 relay with the team of Logan Kerby, Glenn McMillan, Brady Ohrn and Austin McVey.

Parkersburg High, who only competed in the girls portion of the meet, amassed 156 points to 99 for runnerup Williamstown. Leading the Big Reds was Sarah Bever, who accounted for 34 points thanks to winning the high jump and placing second in both hurdle races and the 200.

Sarah Ferguson of Doddridge County was a triple winner, beating Bever to the tape in both hurdle races and capturing the long jump title.

Double winners included Parkersburg’s Whitney McAtee, who once again dominated the throwing events, taking both the shot put and discus and Williamstown sprinter Brooklyn Hammer, who won the 100 and 200. The 100 saw a 1-2 Williamstown finish as Madelin Gardner placed second. Gardner won the pole vault competition and Williamstown had a pair of relays come out on top s the team of Hammer, Ellie Gardner, Lexie Zide and Hope Wilson took the 4 by 100 and Zide, Ally McMullen, Shealee Mossor and Allie Robinson won the 4 by 400.

Other winners for PHS were Hannah Bailey in the 400, Rachel Morris in the 800 and the shuttle hurdle relay team of Lauren Maloney, Tiffany Cline, Mackenzie Sims and Lauren Leaman.