Ripley team wins RESA 5 Science Bowl

PARKERSBURG – A team from Ripley High School took top honors last week at the RESA 5 Regional Science Bowl.

Fifteen teams representing nine high schools from across the region competed for a chance to advance to the West Virginia Regional Science Bowl. Ripley High School’s A team came back from a loss in the opening round to win the competition. Ripley’s Team A members were Alex Wilkinson, Cody Alderman, Eldrick Millares, Kensey Bergdorf and Dallas Hopkins.

Parkersburg High School’s Team A made up of Nanda Siva, Elliot Clark, Sean Snider, Reid Strobl and John Bolton placed second at the event. Williamstown High School placed third. Team members included Kody Mellot, Matt Zlatkind, Gearick Watt, Ryder Deem and Josh Daniell.

The top three teams will advance to the 23rd annual West Virginia Regional Science Bowl at the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Energy Technology Laboratory in Morgantown on Feb. 1, 2014. The teams will face off against other top teams from around West Virginia for the chance to earn an expense-paid trip to the National Science Bowl April 24-28 in Washington, D.C.

The National Science Bowl is sponsored by the Department of Energy.

The fourth place team in the regional competition, Tyler Consolidated High School, will be added to a pool of alternates from across the state and may also be extended an invitation to compete in Morgantown. Their team members are Caroline Bantug, Charlie McNees, Scott Gorby, Kris Lashbrook and Noah Garrison

Other teams competing in the RESA 5 Regional Science Bowl were Parkersburg Catholic’s A and B Teams, Parkersburg High School’s B and C Teams, Ravenswood High School’s A and B Teams, Ripley High School’s B Team, Ritchie County High School, Roane County High School, and Wirt County High School’s A and B Teams.

RESA 5 is one of eight Regional Education Service Agencies in West Virginia. RESA 5 serves the educational systems in Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt and Wood counties.