Sissonville girls top AA/A all-state soccer

FAIRMONT- Sissonville ran away with the 2013 Class AA/A girls state soccer championship and, with it, ran away with four first-team selections on the West Virginia Sports Writers Association’s all-state team.

Fairmont Senior came in just behind Sissonville with three AA/A girls first-teamers, proving just how successful the Polar Bears’ season was after losing to the eventual state champions.

There were a pair of all-state honorees from the Mid-Ohio Valley on the team. Tyler Consolidated goalkeeper Sophia Kinnard was tabbed a second-squad selection, while Ravenswood’s Bess McNabb made the honorable-mention list.

The first team saw three forwards who scored a combined 119 goals, a keeper who had 10 shutouts, powerful legs from midfielders and defenders who worked hard all season.

Two of the forwards were from Sissonville in Madison Jones and Karli Pinkerton. Jones scored 40 goals and Pinkerton scored 38 to help lead their team to an undefeated season and the state title.

Sissonville also had a goalkeeper, Brooke Reed, who successfully defended her territory. Rounding out the list for the Indians is Mary Schmeck, who added 16 goals from her midfielder position.

As for Fairmont Senior, goalkeeper Kayla Delorenzo posted 251 saves and shut out opponents 10 different times on the season. She did this all while allowing just 15 goals on the year.

The Polar Bears also boasted the coaches’ Player of the Year and co-Defender of the Yyear in Ivey Nucilli and Maddie Stevenski respectively.

Nucilli scored 19 goals and added 12 assists for the season, while Stevenski’s defensive play was known around the state as being lockdown.

Other players to make the first team were Charleston Catholic’s Caroline Dundervill, who scored 41 goals; midfielders Emily Knight (Lincoln), who led Harrison County with 22 goals and 10 assists; Natalie Prater (Bridgeport); and defenders Summer Whipkey (Midland Trail), Jena Alonge (Bridgeport) and Lillian Gandee (Herbert Hoover).

As for the second team, North Marion, Bridgeport and Pike View each came away with three selections.