Pairings Announced

PARKERSBURG-The head coaches of 23 of the 24 teams that advanced to the West Virginia state high school football playoffs met Sunday at the Secondary School Activities Commission office to pick the day, time and place for this weekend’s opening round games

As usual, there was a bit of controversy.

When asked to pick the day and time for his No. 14 Red Devils Class AA game against No. 3 Bluefield, Ravenswood head coach Mick Price elected to play the game at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday. Following the announcement, however, Bluefield’s representative-head coach Fred Simon elects not to show for the weekly meetings during the playoffs-announced that the Beavers’ home field, Mitchell Stadium, would not be available at that time due to a prior commitment to Bluefield College.

Price, the second year head coach of the Red Devils, then selected to play the game at 7:30 p.m. Saturday.

“My concern is for our players and fans,” Price said. “That is an awful long trip to make to play on Friday night, so I elected to go with Saturday afternoon. It would have been nice to know ahead of time about the prior commitment so that I could have come into this meeting better prepared with options.”

Simon, the only coach not to show for the meetings, was not available for comment.

Friday’s Class AA?contests, all of which begin at 7:30 p.m., include No. 1 Wayne (10-0) playing host to No. 16 Philip Barbour (6-4), No. 15 Roane County (7-3) traveling to Wayne Jamison Field to take on No. 2 Bridgeport (9-1), No. 4 Frankfort (8-2) entertaining No. 13 Robert C. Byrd (7-3), No. 11 Nicholas County (8-2) playing at No. 6 Wyoming East (9-1), No. 8 Sissonville (9-1) playing host to No. 9 Mingo Central (8-2) and No. 7 Fairmont Senior (8-2) facing No. 10 Keyser (7-3).

In addition to the Ravenswood-Bluefield matchup, No. 12 Ritchie County (7-3) will travel to Hinton to meet No. 5 Summers County (9-1) on Saturday, with kickoff set for 1:30 p.m.

Headlining the first round of the Class A playoffs will be a renewal of the postseason battles between Wheeling Central and Williamstown. The No. 13 Maroon Knights (6-4) will travel to the home of the No. 4 Yellowjackets (8-2) for a 7:30 p.m. game on Friday.

“We definitely know each other,” Williamstown head coach Terry Smith said. “Neither of us are the same team that played one another a couple of years ago so it is going to be interesting.”

Joining those two on Friday will be No. 1 Madonna (10-0) -which lost to Wahama in last year’s state title game at Wheeling Island Stadium -playing host to No. 16 Tucker County (6-4), No. 2 St. Marys (10-0) will entertain No. 15 East Hardy (7-3), No. 10 Notre Dame (7-3) will play at No. 7 Greenbrier West (9-1) and No. 6 Moorefield (9-1) will host No. 11 Meadow Bridge (8-2).

Saturday’s matchups include No. 5 Man (9-1) taking on No. 12 Bishop Donahue (7-3), No. 14 Magnolia (6-4) meeting No. 3 Valley Fayette (10-0) at Charleston’s Laidley Field and No. 8 Wahama (9-1) entertaining No. 9 Clay-Battelle (8-1) at Point Pleasant High School.

The Class AAA field includes a rematch of the annual Mohawk Bowl as No. 11 Morgantown (8-2) travels to Pony Lewis Field to take on No. 6 University (9-1) at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday.

No. 1 Huntington (10-0), one of two unbeaten teams left in the division, will play host to No. 16 Lewis County (7-3) at 7:30 p.m. on Friday and will be joined on the first night of action by No. 8 George Washington (8-2) entertaining No. 9 Oak Hill (8-2), No. 13 Logan (7-3) traveling to unbeaten No. 4 Point Pleasant (10-0), No. 12 South Charleston (7-3) heading to Wheeling Island Stadium to face No. 5 Wheeling Park (9-1) and No. 3 Capital (9-1) playing host to No. 14 Hurricane (6-4).

Wrapping up the first round in Class AAA at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday will be No. 2 Martinsburg (9-1), which will be looking for its fourth straight title, taking on No. 15 Spring Valley (6-4) and No. 7 Cabell Midland (8-2) playing host to No. 10 Washington (7-3).

The head coaches and administrators of the winning teams will again meet at the WVSSAC office next Sunday, beginning at 10 a.m.