Wirt’s Ohrn nabs LKC award

PARKERSBURG – Wirt County senior Emily Ohrn was honored as the Little Kanawha Conference’s Player of the Year and Williamstown softball skipper Ron Stanley was chosen as Coach of the Year as selected by league coaches.

Ohrn, who was a first team all-LKC selection in both 2010 and 2012, finished her final campaign as a Tiger with a .438 average. She had nine doubles, seven triples, four home runs and added 35 runs scored, 21 runs-batted-in and 44 stolen bases. As a junior, she hit .518 with 42 steals, one homer and 12 RBIs.

“I didn’t really think I’d get it since my team didn’t make it very far,” admitted the center fielder Ohrn, who is going to play volleyball at Fairmont State University. “I’m glad coach (Aaron) Hill was my coach for my junior and senior years.

“I wanted to play in the state tournament. I really enjoyed it (my time as a Tiger). I’m glad I had the teammates I had and they tried their hardest even though we didn’t make it as far as I would’ve liked.”

Abbi Fetty of St. Marys finished her career for the Blue Devils with a .568 average. Fetty, who was the only player this year to earn first team accolades during all four of her campaigns, had six doubles, three triples and one homer. She also finished with 26 RBIs and 20 stolen bases.

The three pitchers on the all-LKC first unit were Ritchie County’s Kenna DeLancey, Braxton County’s Taylor Bragg and Doddridge County’s Megan Sheets. The Eagle Bragg is a repeat honoree, while Sheets won 10 games, fanned 122 in 91 2-3 innings of work. She had a 1.83 earned run average and posted a .304 batting average and knocked in 13.

DeLancey, who helped the Rebels to a third place effort at the Class AA state tournament, finished 13-1 with a 1.25 ERA. In 84 innings on the hill, the freshman allowed just 39 hits and 25 walks for a 0.79 WHIP and also recorded 118 strikeouts. To go along with those numbers, she batted .602, had six doubles, 10 triples, nine round-trippers, 47 runs-batted-in and wasn’t caught stealing in 44 attempts.

DeLancey’s battery mate, Abby Burgess, was joined as a first team catcher by Wirt County’s Shania Tanner, who hit .416 with five doubles, three triples, 13 RBIs and 14 stolen bases. Burgess finished with a .444 average, six doubles, one homer, 23 RBIs and 11 steals.

Aside from Ohrn, the first team outfield also included Braxton County’s Jessica Ellis, Ritchie County’s Vanessa Tallman and St. Marys’ Mikaela Britton (.506 AVG, 8 2B, 15 SB). Tallman, who was caught thrice in 49 stolen base attempts, hit .379, drove in 10 runs and added seven doubles and a triple.

Joining Fetty in the first team infield are Ritchie County’s Cass Ray, Williamstown’s Emrie Gray, Roane County’s Cassidy Taylor, Braxton County’s Ally Pritt and Gilmer County’s Tiffany Young.

Ray not only hit .414 with 25 steals and 32 runs-batted-in, but the senior had eight doubles, four triples, three long balls and had a 15-to-6 walk-to-strikeout ratio. Aside from hitting an even .500, Gray mashed to the tune of 13 doubles, two triples, 10 home runs and drove in 69. She also had five steals. Taylor was a doubles machine as she collected 20 to go along with a .529 average, one triple, 43 RBIs and two dozen stolen bases. Young hit .438 with seven doubles, six triples and three bombs. The Titan added 22 steals and 26 RBIs.

Clay County’s Amber Sontos was selected as the first team utility player. Sontos, Young, Pritt and Ray joined Bragg in earning first team honors for a second time in their respective careers.

Gilmer County’s Morgan Allen was the all-LKC second team utility pick, while the catching slots went to Doddridge County’s Ashlie LaFalce, Ravenswood’s Sidnee Morgan and Roane County’s Miranda Hall.

Moie Ray of Ritchie County, Casey Lassiter of Roane County and Williamstown’s Cierra King were the second unit hurlers.

The second team outfield featured Williamstown’s Ashton Chancellor, Mikayla Hearn of St. Marys, Braxton County’s Charity Ramsey and Gilmer County’s Jamie Conrad.

Six outfielders earned second team honors – Gilmer County’s Julie Bishop, Roane County’s Beth Hylbert, St. Marys’ Amy Childers, Tyler Consolidated’s Martina Parrish and Braxton County teammates Sarah Frame and Baylee Stewart.