Phillips selected as fourth ‘Cornerstone’ recipient

PARKERSBURG – Alvin Phillips of Parkersburg is the fourth to be named a “Cornerstone of Our Community” through Our Community’s Foundation – the Parkersburg Area Community Foundation & Regional Affiliates, 50th anniversary awards Program sponsored by Superior Toyota.

Phillips receives a gold Fenton vase and the honor of awarding $1,000 for charitable purposes.

Foundation Executive Director Judy Sjostedt said, a “Cornerstone is that fundamental building block on which a foundation is built. Phillips was chosen in the field of Community and Economic Development for his longterm dedication to community service and particularly his work with Habitat for Humanity.”

Phillips began volunteering with Habitat in 1990 and became its first executive director in 1995 in Wood County. He later worked on a regional level for Habitat for Humanity International and decided to return to this area in 2006, stating that it was “time to come back.”

Habitat for Humanity is made up of dedicated volunteers who assist families in need in the building of their own homes.

Phillips said home recipients work actively alongside the volunteer crews. “They build their houses with us and we get to know them really well, it’s like a family. It’s great to see them be successful.” Phillips added, “This community is very generous. It’s a wonderful place in which to live.”

Phillips’ nominator said, “Through Alvin’s consistent leadership, Wood County Habitat has built 64 homes serving 250 people.” He cited Phillips’ enthusiasm, leadership ability and strong community relationships as the foundation for Habitat’s success locally. The organization is presently building its 65th, 66th and 67th homes.

In addition to Habitat, Phillips shares his time with the Actors Guild, Circles Campaign, Wood County Rotary, Community Resources and many other groups.

Phillips’ dedication to being a “builder of our community” and service to many organizations, including Habitat for Humanity, has earned him a Cornerstone of Our Community Award.