Three inducted into society

MARIETTA – Three graduating seniors from Marietta College have been inducted into the Society for Collegiate Journalists Honorary. Connor Walters of Bay Village, Ohio; Andrew Knauff of Valencia, Pa.; and Amanda Nicholson of Marietta are members of the Marietta Chapter of the society. To be inducted into the honorary, students must be members of the society who are active in student media and achieve a 3.25 or higher grade point average. The Society for Collegiate Journalists is the country’s oldest organization designed solely to serve college journalists. Pi Delta Epsilon, founded in 1909, and Alpha Phi Gamma, founded in 1919, merged to create SCJ.

Nicholson, president of Marietta’s SCJ chapter and editor-in-chief of The Marcolian, was a finalist for the society’s Student Journalist of the Year.

Knauff, treasurer of the Marietta College chapter, was interim managing editor of The Marcolian.

Walters, online editor of The Marcolian, received the Knight Award for the outstanding graduating Media Studies major.