Edison, Jackson in annual History Bowl tourney

PARKERSBURG – Three schools from Wood and Jackson counties today are competing in the fourth annual State History Bowl Championship sponsored by the West Virginia Division of Culture and History at the Culture Center on the Capitol Complex.

Edison and Jackson middle schools in Wood County and Ripley Middle School in Ripley are among the 24 teams of eighth graders from 20 schools in 16 counties shooting for the championship title. Activities begin with a general assembly at 9 a.m. followed by the first round of competition at 9:30 a.m.

Guest moderators Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin, his wife Joanne Jaeger Tomblin, U.S. Circuit Court Judge Joseph Goodwin, division Secretary Kay Goodwin, Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, Sesquicentennial Commission member Larry Swann and Delegate Michael T. Ferro, D-Marshall, will preside over several sessions.

The double-elimination tournament includes lightning rounds and team rounds featuring questions about state and county history, culture, heritage and tourism prepared by the staff of the division’s Archives and History section.

The Archives and History staff has developed more than 1,800 questions for its online Quick Quizzes. Teams preparing for the tournament were able to use the Archives and History Daily Trivia and Quick Quizzes as helpful tools from the Division’s website, www.wvculture.org/history.

Eighth graders in public, private and home-school education programs are eligible to compete on the four-person teams in double-elimination tournament play. The regional winners and runner-up teams from each district and the top eight teams from a play-in competition will compete in the tournament final.

The play-in competition was held to accommodate schools that were unable to compete in their regional round because of inclement weather and school closings. It also was open to all schools throughout the state that wanted to get a second chance in the History Bowl tournament.

Other competitors are, two teams from Moorefield Middle School in Hardy County, Taylor County Middle School in Grafton, Green Bank Middle School in Pocahontas County, Logan Middle School in Logan County, Mountaineer Middle School in Monongalia County, Richwood Middle School in Nicholas County, Independence Middle School in Raleigh County, Frankfort Middle School in Mineral County, two teams from Fairview Middle School in Marion County, two teams from Shady Spring Middle School in Raleigh County, two teams from Cameron High School in Marshall County, Ansted Middle School in Fayette County, Summersville Middle School in Nicholas County, Andrew Jackson Middle School in Kanawha County, Sissonville Middle School in Kanawha County; Milton Middle School in Cabell County and Wayne Middle School in Wayne County.